Afghanistan’s Karim Janat joins an unwanted list of bowlers to concede 36 runs in an over in T20Is




In the high-stakes world of T20 cricket, records are often made and broken, and the recent clash between India and Afghanistan at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru was no exception, as it showcased both triumph and tribulation. While India’s skipper Rohit Sharma stole the show with a record-breaking fifth T20I century during the first innings of the match, Afghanistan’s Karim Janat found himself making headlines for less desirable reasons.

Rohit Sharma’s century and Karim Janat’s unenviable record

As the match progressed, the 20th over of India’s innings witnessed a dramatic turn of events, marking a rollercoaster of emotions for the players and fans alike. Rohit, in collaboration with Rinku Singh, unleashed a flurry of boundaries and sixes, pummeling Karim for an astonishing 36 runs.

The unfortunate event added Janat’s name to a short yet infamous list of bowlers who have experienced the same fate in the history of T20Is. The Afghan all-rounder became the third bowler to concede a whopping 36 runs in a single over in T20 Internationals (T20Is).

Bowlers who conceded 36 runs in an over in T20Is

1. Stuart Broad vs Yuvraj Singh (Durban) – 2007

Stuart Broad
Stuart Broad (Image Source: Twitter)

In the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007, England’s Stuart Broad faced the onslaught of India’s Yuvraj Singh, who smashed him for six consecutive sixes, marking the first occurrence of a bowler conceding 36 runs in a T20I over.

Also READ: Know the inspiring journey of Shamar Joseph: The Caribbean bowler who dismissed Steve Smith on the first ball of his career

2. Akila Dananjaya vs Kieron Pollard (Coolidge) – 2021

Akila Dananjaya
Akila Dananjaya (Image Source: Twitter)

The second entry into this list occurred in 2021 when West Indies’ power-hitter Kieron Pollard unleashed his destructive prowess against Sri Lanka’s Akila Dananjaya, dispatching him for six consecutive sixes in an over.

3. Karim Janat vs Rohit Sharma and Rinku Singh (Bengaluru) – 2024

Karim Janat
Karim Janat (Image Source: Twitter)

The most recent addition to this unwanted list is Karim Janat, who found himself on the receiving end of a brutal assault by Rohit Sharma and Rinku Singh in the 20th over of the T20I clash. Janat conceded five sixes (including one off a no-ball), one four, and one single.

Also READ: Mohammed Shami reveals what should be the criteria for selection in India’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad


Source link



Leave a Replay



  • Register Now and get a 2% bonus on a deposit of ₹ 100 or more
  • Register on Skyexch and claim a 5% Bonus on your New ID
  • Minimum Deposit ₹5,000

Recent Posts