Online Cricket ID | Online Cricket ID Provider




In a significant announcement, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has named Rajat Patidar as the replacement for Indian cricket stalwart Virat Kohli in the first two Tests against England. Kohli, who withdrew from the matches citing personal reasons, will be temporarily replaced by the accomplished player in the squad.

India call up for Rajat Patidar

Rajat Patidar, recognized for his batting prowess and contributions in domestic cricket, has been entrusted with the responsibility of filling the vacant spot left by Kohli.

Patidar has been in excellent form recently, registering a notable performance of 151 against England Lions in Ahmedabad just last week. In addition to this, he contributed significantly with a score of 111 in the warm-up fixture against the Lions. Patidar was also part of the tour to South Africa late last year with the A side, showcasing his consistency and talent.

Having made his international debut in an ODI against South Africa in Paarl last December, where he opened the innings, the right-handed batter is expected to bring his skills to the middle-order in the upcoming Tests. Despite his recent entry into international cricket, Patidar’s prolific run-scoring and adaptability to different batting positions make him a valuable asset for Team India.

Also READ: Sunil Gavaskar names two Indian players who will shine against England in the Test series

BCCI respects Virat Kohli’s decision

The BCCI, in its official statement, also extended support and best wishes to Kohli during this period, respecting his need for personal space. The board urged fans, media, and cricket enthusiasts to respect the privacy of the captain and his family.

As cricket enthusiasts eagerly await the commencement of the five-match India vs England Test series on January 25 in Hyderabad, all eyes will be on how Team India, under Rohit Sharma‘s leadership, navigates the challenges posed by the formidable English side.

India’s updated squad (1st and 2nd Test):

Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Rajat Patidar, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Dhruv Jurel (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan

Also READ: BCCI Awards – Here is the complete list of winners


Source link



Leave a Replay



  • Register Now and get a 2% bonus on a deposit of ₹ 100 or more
  • Register on Skyexch and claim a 5% Bonus on your New ID
  • Minimum Deposit ₹5,000

Recent Posts