Online Cricket ID | Online Cricket ID Provider




Sri Lanka are set to host Afghanistan for a multiformat series that will include one-off Test match, followed by three ODIs and as many T20Is starting from February 2. The tour begins with a one-off Test game, marking Afghanistan’s first appearance in red-ball cricket against Sri Lanka. The fixture will take place at Sinhalese Sports Club (SSC) in Colombo. However, this match is not a part of the World Championship Cycle (WTC) 2023-25 cycle.

Afghanistan squad and absence of Rashid Khan

Afghanistan’s Test squad boasts familiar faces in the batting lineup, with the seasoned Hashmatullah Shahidi leading the side, accompanied by Ibrahim Zadran, Abdul Malik and Rahmat Shah. Notably, the absence of key player Rashid Khan, still recovering from back surgery, is a setback. The leg-spinner Qais Ahmed is set to fill the void, joined by uncapped talents like Noor Ali Zadran, Zia-ur-Rehman, Mohammad Ishaq and the emerging 18-year-old right-arm medium-pacer Naveed Zadran.

Also READ: Afghanistan coach Jonathan Trott provides update regarding Rashid Khan’s official comeback

Leadership transition in Sri Lanka: Dhananjaya de Silva takes charge

In a significant development, Sri Lanka have entrusted the role of Test captaincy to the versatile all-rounder Dhananjaya de Silva, who steps in for Dimuth Karunaratne. This appointment makes him the 18th player from Sri Lanka to lead in Tests, signifying a new chapter in his cricketing journey.

Dynamic blend of youth and experience

The team comprises seasoned campaigners like Angelo Matthews, Dinesh Chandimal and Dimuth Karunaratne, while Kushal Mendis assumes the role of deputy under De Silva’s captaincy. The squad introduces three uncapped players: wicketkeeper-batter Lahiru Udara, along with pacers Chamika Gunasekara and Milan Rathnayake. In addition to the debutant seamers, the squad features the experienced trio of Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha and Asitha Fernando, promising a dynamic blend of youth and experience in Sri Lanka’s red-ball cricket lineup.

Afghanistan tour of Sri Lanka, 2024, One-off Test Fixture, Venue and Timing:

  • February 2 to 6: Only Test at Sinhalese Sports Club (SSC), Colombo 10:00 am IST/ 04:30 am GMT/ 10:00 am local


Sri Lanka: Dhananjaya de Silva (c), Kusal Mendis (vc), Dimuth Karunaratne, Nishan Madushka, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Sadeera Samarawickrema, Ramesh Mendis, Kamindu Mendis, Lahiru Udara, Prabath Jayasuriya, Asitha Fernando, Kasun Rajitha,Vishwa Fernando, Chamika Gunasekara, Milan Ratnayake

Afghanistan: Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Rahmat Shah (vc), Ikram Alikhail (wk), Mohammad Ishaq (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Noor Ali Zadran, Abdul Malik, Baheer Shah, Nasir Jamal, Qais Ahmad, Zahir Khan, Zia Ur Rehman Akbar, Yamin Ahmadzai, Nijat Masoud, Mohammad Saleem Safi and Naveed Zadran

Broadcast and Live streaming details:

  • India: Fancode, Sony Liv, Sony Sports 5
  • Sri Lanka: Ten Cricket, Siyatha TV
  • Afghanistan: Ariana TVN, RTA Sports
  • UK: TNT Sports 4

Also READ: Team India’s new recruit Sarfaraz Khan reveals his favourite cricketer


Source link



Leave a Replay



  • Register Now and get a 2% bonus on a deposit of ₹ 100 or more
  • Register on Skyexch and claim a 5% Bonus on your New ID
  • Minimum Deposit ₹5,000

Recent Posts