Online Cricket ID | Online Cricket ID Provider




The Ranji Trophy, inaugurated in the 1934-35 season, occupies a prestigious position in the annals of Indian cricket history as the foremost first-class cricket competition in the country. Reverently named after the iconic Indian cricketer Ranjitsinhji, the tournament has functioned as a crucible for emerging cricketers, acting as a stage where raw talent is showcased and aspiring players carve their identities at the domestic level.

India’s cricketing icons forged in the crucible of Ranji Trophy

The Ranji Trophy, a cricketing crucible, has played an instrumental role in sculpting the careers of numerous cricketing legends. The likes of Sunil Gavaskar, Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Virender Sehwag and many other luminaries have meticulously refined their skills and garnered acclaim through stellar performances in the Ranji Trophy before ascending to the grandeur of the international cricket stage.

Top 3 fastest tons in Ranji Trophy history

Within the rich tapestry of Ranji Trophy history, several cricketers have etched their names by crafting centuries in remarkably swift fashion.

3. Naman Ojha’s Blitz Against Karnataka (2014-15):

Naman Ojha
Naman Ojha (Image Source: Twitter)

During the 2014-15 Ranji Trophy, Naman Ojha from Madhya Pradesh etched his name in history with the third fastest century. In a dazzling display against Karnataka in Indore, Ojha achieved the century milestone in a mere 69 balls. Wrapping up the innings with a stellar score of 115 runs off 81 balls, he demonstrated his batting prowess with 8 fours and 9 sixes. Notably, Ojha’s innings played a crucial role in helping Madhya Pradesh secure a draw in the match.

2. Riyan Parag’s Rapid Redemption (2023-24):

Riyan Parag
Riyan Parag (Image Source: Twitter)

In a dramatic twist during the 2023-24 Ranji Trophy match between Assam and Chhattisgarh, Assam captain Riyan Parag rebounded from a modest 8 run performance in the first innings to craft the second fastest century in Ranji Trophy history. Against Chattisgarh in Raipur, Parag’s extraordinary feat unfolded in just 56 balls during the second innings, setting a target for Chattisgarh. His remarkable display concluded with an impressive score of 155 off 87 balls, featuring 11 fours and an outstanding 12 sixes.

Moreover, Parag’s 56-ball ton is also the fourth fastest ton among Indians in first-class cricket. RK Borah, also from Assam, scored a century in 56 balls against Tripura in the 1987-88 season.

Also READ: India vs Afghanistan 2024: Dates, Match Timings, Squads, Broadcast & Live Streaming details

1. Rishabh Pant’s Record-breaking Triumph (2016-17):

Rishabh Pant
Rishabh Pant (Image Source: Twitter)

In the 2016-17 Ranji Trophy, Rishabh Pant left an indelible mark with a record-breaking performance, securing the title of the fastest century in the tournament’s storied history. Pant achieved this remarkable feat in just 48 balls during the second innings of a match against Jharkhand in Thiruvananthapuram. This century played a pivotal role as Delhi, following-on, needed a remarkable effort. Pant’s innings of 135 runs off 67 balls, embellished with 8 fours and an impressive 13 sixes, not only helped Delhi draw the game but also showcased his explosive batting prowess.

Also READ: Fans react as Cheteshwar Pujara slams 17th double hundred in first-class cricket – Ranji Trophy 2024


Source link



Leave a Replay



  • Register Now and get a 2% bonus on a deposit of ₹ 100 or more
  • Register on Skyexch and claim a 5% Bonus on your New ID
  • Minimum Deposit ₹5,000

Recent Posts