PCB announces appointment of a new vice-captain for T20I team ahead of New Zealand tour




Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has officially revealed their new vice-captain for the national T20I team ahead of their highly anticipated series against New Zealand. The announcement was made through PCB’s official X (formerly Twitter) handle, setting the stage for the five-match T20I series scheduled to commence on January 12.

New leadership under Shaheen Afridi

The Men in Green, now led by Shaheen Afridi, have landed in Auckland in preparation for the series opener at Eden Park. The young captain, along with five key squad members, including Babar Azam, Saim Ayub, Aamer Jamal and Mohammad Wasim Jr, arrived in Auckland from Sydney on Monday.

Star player takes on vice-captaincy role

In a strategic move, PCB has appointed Mohammad Rizwan as the vice-captain of Pakistan’s T20I team. Known for his stellar performance as a wicketkeeper-batter, Rizwan adds experience and leadership to the squad under Shaheen’s captaincy.

“.@iMRizwanPak has been appointed vice-captain of Pakistan’s T20I team,” tweeted Pakistan Cricket.

Also READ: New Zealand announces a strong 13-man squad for Pakistan T20Is; Kane Williamson, Matt Henry return

Squad composition for New Zealand series

The Pakistan T20I squad for the New Zealand series includes a mix of experienced players and emerging talents. Shaheen will lead the team, supported by vice-captain Rizwan, who will also take on the role of wicketkeeper. The squad comprises Jamal, Abbas Afridi, Azam Khan, Babar, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz and Saim Ayub etc.

With the new leadership structure in place, the Pakistani are eager to showcase their skills and competitive spirit in the T20I series against New Zealand. Cricket enthusiasts are anticipating an exciting battle between the two cricketing nations as they prepare to face off at Eden Park on January 12.

Pakistan T20I squad for New Zealand series: Shaheen Shah Afridi (captain), Mohammad Rizwan (vice-captain and wicket-keeper) Aamir Jamal, Abbas Afridi, Azam Khan (wicket-keeper), Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haseebullah (wicket-keeper), Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Sahibzada Farhan, Saim Ayub, Usama Mir and Zaman Khan

Also READ: Pakistan legend Wasim Akram hits back at fan’s offensive remark on his wife


Source link



Leave a Replay



  • Register Now and get a 2% bonus on a deposit of ₹ 100 or more
  • Register on Skyexch and claim a 5% Bonus on your New ID
  • Minimum Deposit ₹5,000

Recent Posts