Top run scorer by batters in a single IPL edition

Virat Kohli has established himself at the top of the chart by scoring the most runs in a single season. In the 2016 edition of the IPL, he scored a colossal record of 973 runs in 16 matches. In addition, Kohli set a record with four centuries in that season; no one has shown such supremacy with the bat in the IPL before him. He assisted RCB in reaching the final; but couldn’t lift the title because SRH played a spoiler to their party. 

Virat Kohli

973 Runs (Royal Challengers Bangalore, IPL 2016)

Thanks to his successful stint with the Rajasthan Royals in the 2022 edition, Jos Buttler ranks second on the premium list of the most runs in a single IPL season. Buttler scored 863 runs in 17 matches with a blistering strike rate of 149.05 and a respectable average of 57.53. The Englishman left no stone unturned in his quest to pummel the bowlers and render them bewildered, reaching four spectacular hundreds in the tournament.

Jos Buttler

863 Runs (Rajasthan Royals, IPL 2022)

With 848 runs in 17 games in 2016, Aussie stalwart David Warner is ranked third in the IPL for the most runs in a single season. Warner was shoulder-to-shoulder with Virat Kohli for the Orange cap, averaging a scintillating 60.57 and a destructive 151.42 strike rate. Warner scored nine fifties in that season, the most by a batsman in an IPL edition.

David Warner

848 Runs (Sunrisers Hyderabad, IPL 2016)

Kane Williamson, the captain of New Zealand, is recognised for his composed batting on the ground. He is also the IPL’s second-highest scorer in a season. Williamson scored a commendable total of 735 runs in 17 IPL matches during the 2018 season. His IPL season consists of eight half-centuries.

Kane Williamson

735 Runs (Sunrisers Hyderabad, IPL 2018)

Chris Gayle, the former swashbuckling opener, had a fantastic season in the 2012 IPL. The Caribbean southpaw allowed 733 runs in 14 innings, striking out at a humongous 160.74 strike rate. Gayle hammered every bowler and smashed seven fifties and a century with ease. 

Chris Gayle

733 Runs (Royal Challengers Bangalore, IPL 2012)